top of page

What I Learned At The Pre Classic


Following my school final exams last month I continued to get on a plane to attend the Prefontaine Classic. The Pre Classic is the longest running track and field meet in America, and one of the main events of the most prestigious Diamond League. For someone to say that they even attended this would be an honor, however Matt and I were able to see an entirely different side of this event. Our incredible learning experience started with a press conference with 8 of the world's best athletes. All of whom are the best in their events. In the conference there were chairs for athletes all over the room, and chances to walk up to whichever athlete you wanted to. My first being Asbel Kiprop (A man who has dominated the 1500 and mile for the past few years and holds a 1500 PR only 0.69 off the current world record.)

When meeting an elite athlete one would think their personality would be rude and cocky. But the first words I heard out of Asbel Kiprop's mouth were inaudible due to his soft spoken tone, and shy attitude. Asbel, a man known for his theatricality and aggressiveness seemed to be completely different in person. One thing I learned from meeting Asbel, which is often forgotten is that even though he may be an Olympic athlete, he is still human. A lot of times I think that an athlete who can run 3:26.69 for the 1500 is held at a completely different level than I. While in some aspects this is true this doesn't change the fact that we are still the same. The lesson taught to me by asking Asbel questions in my interview will stick with me always.

Olympic silver medalist Leo Manzano proved to be a true inspiration to me. Not only because of his undying dedication to the sport, but because he showed me that being a fast runner doesn't rely on height. Leo, not being taller than me is known for his aggressiveness but also his humbleness. Even though the height of other competitors towers over him, Leo's success has been a truly inspiring story. From being one of America's fastest milers to being an Olympic medalist, Leo's motivation lies in the fact that his height should not tear him down, but push him to be the best version of himself possible.

Part of the amazing experience I had was watching the meet from the fence line, literally only a foot away from the track and on ground level with it. The area we were watching from was only open to media and athletes. In this area Matt and I would take turns watching the meet and running back to the media tent where we would get time to talk to the athletes at the end of their races. While interviewing an athlete is always fun, it hardly compares to casually watching the meet next to some of the greatest runners in history. While I was watching I had a chance to see Ayanleh Souleiman, the indoor 1000m world record holder and the runner to get the closest to the mile world record in the past 10 years (3:47.) Seeing the way he acted with his friends was not much different than how I might with my own. Being only 23 years old, Ayanleh showed me that the most elite athletes have fun running, while average people admire their hard work from afar.

Coming into the meet the event I was looking forward to the most was the Bowerman Mile. Not only because it had a stacked field of elites and the best lineup in history, but because with Drew Hunter history would be made. Drew Hunter became the first prep runner in history to break 8 minutes for the 3k, running 7:59. Only a week later he became the 8th prep in history to break the 4 minute barrier for the mile, with a time of 3:58 indoors. Coming in with some of the most prestigious honors possible it was clear that he would be chasing a fast time, and even Alan Webb's HS record of 3:53. However despite not running to his full potential, Drew still delivered a shocking performance among some of the world's greatest runners, in the greatest mile race ever at the Pre Classic.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page